Ten World-Famous Cathedrals and Their Saints

Ten World-Famous Cathedrals and Their Saints

A cathedral is a religious institution with the bishop or the archbishop as the head. These are where various services are performed, such as choral services, baptisms, Christmas and Easter functions, and so on. Many cathedral buildings have amazing architectural appeal and are listed in the UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Cathedrals all around the world have been of great interest to historians and archaeologists. They attract not just worshippers but also people who admire the strong and beautiful architecture of such buildings. A recent study showed that there are more than 3391 cathedrals in the world. Discussed below are some of the famous cathedrals and the saints they are dedicated to.

1. Manchester Cathedral – Saint Nicholas

Located in Manchester, England, this cathedral took more than 400 years to build (1421-1882). Formally known as the Cathedral and Collegiate Church of St Mary, St. Denys, and St. George, this cathedral has a denomination of the Church of England. It was the Gresley family who built the first chantry; it was named St Nicholas Chantry and was dedicated to Saint Nicholas. Later, it is devoted to St. Mary, the mother of Jesus, St. Denys, a Christian martyr and the bishop of Paris, and St. George, the patron saint of England. This building was granted the status of buildings of exceptional interest in 1952.

2. St. John the Baptist Cathedral, Norwich

It is of the Roman Catholic denomination, located in Norwich, Norfolk, England. The church was designed by George Gilbert Scott, Jr., and the construction took around 28 years (1882-1910). Currently, the position of the bishop is held by Alan Hopes, an Honorary Fellow of St Edmund’s College, Cambridge.

St. Basil’s Cathedral, Moscow

3. St. Basil’s Cathedral, Moscow

Designed by Ivan Barma and Postnik Yakovlev and located in Red Square, Moscow, Russia, this church is affiliated with Russian Orthodox and is recognized as a State Historical Museum that has offered occasional church services since 1991. The cathedral has been listed on the UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1990. Before being consecrated in the 16th century, the building was known by the name “Trinity Church”. It was later renamed to pay homage to Vasily (Basil), who died while the building was under construction and was buried there.

4. Nottingham Cathedral – St. Barnabas

Also known as The Cathedral Church of St. Barnabas, this church holds a denomination of Roman Catholic. Located in Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, it was built in just about three years (1841-1844) and was designed by an English architect, Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin. However, it wasn’t until 1852 that it was raised to cathedral status. The cathedral is dedicated to Barnabas, who was born as Joseph.

Bath Abbey – Saint Peter and Saint Paul

5. Bath Abbey – Saint Peter and Saint Paul

Dedicated to Saint Peter and Saint Paul, this cathedral was earlier of a Roman Catholic denomination and was later changed to the Church of England. Saint Peter was known as the first bishop of Rome and was born as Simon, according to the New Testament. Saint Paul belonged to a Jewish family and was a Christian missionary who later converted and led a Christian life. The interior of the Bath Abbey was designed by Robert and William Vertue and is home to 617 wall memorials.

6. Coventry Cathedral – St Michael

Officially known as The Cathedral Church of St Michael, the Coventry Cathedral is located in Coventry City Centre, West Midlands, England. It holds the denomination of the Church of England and is dedicated to St. Michael. The building was designed by a Scottish architect, Basil Spencer, and the construction took around six years (1956-1962). St. Michael is known as an archangel in many religions and is often called by the name Archangel Michael.

Hereford Cathedral – Saint Mary and Saint Ethelbert

7. Hereford Cathedral – Saint Mary and Saint Ethelbert

Hereford Cathedral is also known as the Cathedral of Saint Mary the Virgin and Saint Ethelbert the King. It is located in Hereford, Herefordshire, England, and holds a denomination of the Church of England. One of the most treasured maps in the world can be found in this cathedral, known as the Mappa Mundi – it is a map of the world created by Richard of Holdingham and is listed on the UNESCO Memory of the World Register.

8. St. Joseph’s Cathedral, Swansea

This cathedral is known by many names – The Cathedral Church of Saint Joseph, Menevia Cathedral, and Swansea Cathedral. This church is dedicated to St Joseph and is located in Swansea, West Glamorgan, Wales. It holds a Roman Catholic denomination. The building of the church was designed by Peter Paul Pugin, and it took around two years to be built (1887-89). However, it was raised to the status of a cathedral in 1987. St Joseph was believed to be married to Mary, mother of Jesus Christ.

9. Westminster Abbey – Saint Peter

Formally known as the Collegiate Church of Saint Peter at Westminster, Westminster Abbey is the largest cathedral in England. It is located in Dean’s Yard, London, England, and its denomination has been changed from Roman Catholic to Church of England. The Abbey has been dedicated to Saint Peter and has been listed on the UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1987. It offers various services to be held at its premises, such as coronations, royal weddings, burials, and memorials.

St. Vitus Cathedral – Saint Vitus

10. St. Vitus Cathedral – Saint Vitus

The Metropolitan Cathedral of Saint Vitus, Wenceslaus, and Adalbert, commonly known as St. Vitus Cathedral, is one of the most prominent examples of Gothic architecture. It is located in Prague, Czech Republic, with a denomination of Roman Catholic. The building was designed by a German-Bohemian architect, Peter Parler, and a French architect, Matthias of Arras. It is dedicated to St. Vitus.

Join the conversation