Ten Cathedrals and their Honored Saints

A cathedral is more than just a religious institution; it stands as a testament to human ingenuity, architecture, and deep spiritual reverence. Headed by a bishop or an archbishop, cathedrals are the venues for various significant religious ceremonies, from choral services to Christmas and Easter celebrations. Their breathtaking architectural designs have earned many of them spots on the UNESCO World Heritage Sites list.

While cathedrals primarily serve the religious community, they also captivate historians, archaeologists, and architecture enthusiasts alike. With over 3,391 cathedrals around the globe, each has its unique story and patron saint. Let’s delve into ten renowned cathedrals and the saints they venerate.

Manchester Cathedral – Saint Nicolas

1. Manchester Cathedral – Saint Nicolas

Situated in Manchester, England, the cathedral’s construction spanned over 400 years (1421-1882). Initially called the Cathedral and Collegiate Church of St Mary, St Denys, and St George, its first chantry was dedicated to Saint Nicholas by the Gresley family. Later, its dedication expanded to include St Mary, St Denys, and St George. This architectural gem achieved the status of buildings of exceptional interest in 1952.

St. John the Baptist Cathedral, Norwich

2. St. John the Baptist Cathedral, Norwich

Located in Norwich, Norfolk, this Roman Catholic cathedral boasts a design by George Gilbert Scott Jr. Built between 1882-1910, Bishop Alan Hopes now head it.

St. Basil's Cathedral, Moscow

3. St. Basil’s Cathedral, Moscow

Nestled in Moscow’s Red Square, this masterpiece was designed by Ivan Barma and Postnik Yakovlev. Initially known as “Trinity Church,” it later honoured Vasily (Basil) and has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1990.

Nottingham Cathedral – St. Barnabas

4. Nottingham Cathedral – St. Barnabas

Constructed between 1841-1844, this Roman Catholic edifice in Nottingham was designed by the esteemed Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin. It venerates St. Barnabas, originally named Joseph.

Bath Abbey – Saint Peter and Saint Paul

5. Bath Abbey – Saint Peter and Saint Paul

Initially Roman Catholic, Bath Abbey transitioned to the Church of England and honors both St. Peter and St. Paul, two central figures in Christian history.

Coventry Cathedral – St Michael

6. Coventry Cathedral – St Michael

Designed by the Scottish architect Basil Spencer from 1956-1962, this cathedral in Coventry City Centre dedicates itself to St. Michael, known as the Archangel Michael in many faiths.

Hereford Cathedral – Saint Mary and Saint Ethelbert

7. Hereford Cathedral – Saint Mary and Saint Ethelbert

Located in Hereford, this cathedral houses the Mappa Mundi, a treasured map listed on the UNESCO Memory of the World Register.

St. Joseph's Cathedral, Swansea

8. St. Joseph’s Cathedral, Swansea

Also known as the Menevia Cathedral, this edifice in Swansea, Wales, venerated St. Joseph and transitioned to cathedral status in 1987.

Westminster Abbey – Saint Peter

9. Westminster Abbey – Saint Peter

Perhaps the most renowned cathedral in England, Westminster Abbey in London, honours Saint Peter and has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1987.

St. Vitus Cathedral – Saint Vitus

10. St. Vitus Cathedral – Saint Vitus

This exemplary Gothic architecture piece in Prague is dedicated to St. Vitus and showcases the genius of architects Peter Parler and Matthias of Arras.

Cathedrals are more than just places of worship. They are monumental embodiments of history, art, culture, and faith, telling stories of times gone by while continuing to inspire present and future generations.

Next time you’re planning a trip, consider adding one of these architectural marvels to your itinerary. Discover, learn, and be inspired by the rich history and spirituality they offer. And if you’ve enjoyed this piece, please share it with fellow history and architecture enthusiasts. The beauty of these cathedrals deserves to be celebrated and shared.

Join the conversation